Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development have been monumental in shaping our world. From the discovery of penicillin to the string theory, scientific research is what brings us conclusions to years of unanswered questions. However, scientific research can become destructive if it not properly monitored with rules and regulations. Thus, the government should place reasonable limits on scientific research and development, so as not to hinder scientific advancements but to ensure the safety of the population.

Restrictions on scientific development and research are needed to protect the population from preventable harm. For example, before the idea of ethical research was introduced, studies did not have to ensure the safety of their participants. In Tuskegee, Alabama, scientists knowingly infected innocent men with syphilis and then failed to provide them with treatment, claiming that their actions were taken for scientific research. After this incidence was exposed, the United States government implemented rules to protect the public from unethical research practices. Therefore, restrictions such as an ethical code are needed to ensure safe and humane scientific research.

The question of what is considered “science” can also be asked. It would not be advantageous to remove current restrictions on pharmaceutical research, or on who is allowed to investigate nuclear technology. Additionally, what if someone were to hypothetically claim that murdering innocent animals was science? Are there clear definitions that say what is and what is not “science”? The restrictions on scientific research that are currently in place are meant to protect them from potential dangers of unrestricted science.

It can be said, however, that placing restrictions on scientific research inhibits the progression of scientific discoveries. Eli Musk, for example, was the first person to privately fund a space operation in which he successfully placed a car in orbit around Earth. If there had been restrictions against privately operated and owned research companies, Eli Musk would not be making such significant scientific advancements, such as his mission to colonize Mars by 2025. Although it is incredibly dangerous, the current restrictions that are in place regarding research assure that the volunteers to Mars are well informed of the risk that is taking. This, again, affirms the example that restrictions on scientific research are necessary to protect people’s free will and basic human rights.

In conclusion, the government has and should continue to restrict scientific research and development, if not for the sake of the people, for the sake of protecting the integrity of science.