Prompt: "The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The business manager argues that due to the increased time devoted to national news than the weather and local news, the local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with the television station. The argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and assumptions. To justify this the business manager states that most complaints received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the manager's conclusion. hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantial.

First of all, the argument readily states that that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. this merely mentioned as evidence without much solid ground. For example, it is not explicitly mentioned that the complaints were regarding the less time allotted for the weather and local news, it might have been regarding the quality of the weather and local news. hence the argument would be more convincing if it explicitly stated what the complaints of the viewers were regarding.

The argument readily claims that the local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night programs have canceled their advertising contracts due to the decreased time for weather and local news. this again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the cancel of advertising contracts and the weather and local news. For example, they would have canceled the contract due to many other reasons that the manager has not shed light on. what if they got better stations to advertise on? what if they received better contracts? or what if they had any internal issues with the station's administration? if the argument had provided evidence that the local businesses that used to advertise had canceled their contract due to the less time allotted for weather and local news then it would be a lot more convincing for the reader.

hence the author states that, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little support for the manager's conclusion in several critical aspects and raises several skeptical questions. For example, what aspect of the weather and local news were the complaints of the viewer regarding? what if the quality of the overall news of the station was not satisfactory for the local businesses advertising? what if the local businesses found a more affordable and a better station for advertising? without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the statement made by the manager was more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence,

In conclusion, the argument is far from forceful enough to persuade the reader that expanded coverage of weather and local news in their new programs would attract more viewers and avoid further loss in advertising revenues. Before any final descions are made, much work is left for the manager to do to make the argument more logical and cogent.