Prompt: "The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.'

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The manager makes a claim that by restoring more time devoted to weather and local news and less to national news, the television station will be able to attract more viewers to watch their program and prevent losing any more advertising revenues. this is due to the fact that people are complaining about how the station is providing coverage for weather and local news. while it is important for a television station to address the concerns of its viewers, the claim that the manager makes is flawed and unconvincing.

The manager is assuming that the television program has been losing viewers due to the fact that the program has been spending less time on weather and local news. however, the manager never mentions that he has been losing viewers in the first place. Without mentioning this concern, there is not a good reason to devote more time on weather and local news.

In addition, the manager is also assuming that the potential viewers that he wants to attract are interested in weather and local news. while the current viewers that are complaining seem to be more interested in watching the weather and local news, the future viewers may be more interested knowing the national news. it is also possible that the potential viewers are not interested in neither the weather and local news nor the national news. The viewers may be more interested in the sports news. One viewer may want to know they outcome of the game the new York Yankees played that night and where they stand compared to the rest of the teams in Major League Baseball. therefore, devoting more time to weather and local news may not guarantee an increase in viewers and preventing loss of revenues because not every viewer will be interested in that aspect of the news program.

Finally, the manager is assuming that the television station is losing advertising revenues due to them broadcasting less on weather and local news. however, there is no mention that there is a direct correlation between advertising contract with a local business and the broadcast of the weather and local news. there could be an independent reason why the local businesses have decided to cancel their advertising contracts with the television station such as seeing a better deal with another television station. therefore, the manager cannot claim that broadcasting more weather and local news will prevent advertising revenues loss.

In order for the manager to strengthen his argument, he will need to provide some more convincing evidence. he needs should whether or not this issue is causing the station to lose viewers. he should also provide data from surveys staying which news the viewers are most interested in. These evidence will help the manager strengthen his claim.

In conclusion, the manager's argument that devoting more time in broadcasting weather and local news will help attract more viewers and prevent losing advertising revenues is flawed and unconvincing. while it is important for any television program to address the complaints of viewers, it may be not be essential when it deals with attracting more viewers to the program and generating more revenue.