Q. The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given memo discusses the problem of lesser people attending Super Screen produced movies, despite the positive reviews increasing & recommend allocating a bigger budget to advertising in order to reach enough people as a solution. However, this memo poses certain questions which do not have satisfactory answers to back this recommendation.

To begin with, the advertising director has said that according to a marketing report, despite the lesser audience for Super screen produced movies, the percentage of positive reviews for specific movies have gone up in the past year. This poses certain questions. Firstly, the director says that the positive reviews for specific movies have gone up. But are these movies the recently produced ones or the old classics? If the reviews for old movies have increased that means the viewers are not interested in the newer movies that the production is making. There is no specific information given about which specific movies are getting reviews, and if they are what about the rest of the movies. If only specific ones are getting good reviews, that indicated that the other movies are not doing so well. No data about the reviews of other movies has been given and so no conclusion can be made whatsoever about the quality or reach of these movies.

The advertiser states that the problem does not lie with the quality of movies but with the public lack of awareness about good movies being available because the reviews are not reaching enough people. But what if the public is aware of these movies but does not like the topics of these movies or does not find them relatable or is disinterested in them? The director has in no way considered that the movies might actually be lacking something which is why they are getting lesser response. Maybe they are not making quality films to attract audience. He is fixated on his belief that the public is unaware about the movies. There is also a question of the quality of the reviews or the actual content of the film reviews. What if the reviews highlight unimportant factors of the movie like the lighting, aesthetics, the styling and background instead of important parameters like the script, storyline, acting & concept on which the movie is based? Such reviews would inherently fail to attract audience for the movie. None of the above has been taken into consideration by the director before making a recommendation.

In the end the director concludes that Super Screen needs to allocate a higher budget to reaching public in the following year. But what will the budget be used for? The budget might be increased by reducing money allocated to other important things like sets, actors or even the equipment used. In such a case will the increased budget be fruitful to achieve anticipated results? The use of the increased budget has also not been stated. There are no plans to justify where the budget will be used.

All the above questions considerably weaken the recommendation that the advertising director gives. Without the answers to these questions, the recommendation cannot be accepted as is. The answers to these question can lead to the actual problem & help in finding a more accurate & useful solution to the problem of lesser reach for the movies.