“In a recent citywide poll, fifteen percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s arts museums has increased by similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television, where most of visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds supporting arts should be reallocated to public television.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. Point out flaws in the argument's logic and analyze the argument's underlying assumptions. In addition, evaluate how supporting evidence is used and what evidence might counter the argument's conclusion. You may also discuss what additional evidence could be used to strengthen the argument or what changes would make the argument more logically sound.

The argument states that increase in visual art programs on television has led to an increase in visitors at the city's arts museums. It also goes on to state that reduction in public television funding by corporates will eventually lead to reduced attentance at the city's museums. This arguments is based on multiple assumptions that are not substantiated.

Firstly, the arguement does not throw any light on whether any other external or internal factor has led to increase in attendance at the city museums. Factors other than televsion, like reduced entry ticket prices or a new attarction at the museums can also lead to higher interest by the public. The arguement just blatantly assumes that viewership on television and city museum attandence are direct related. It can also be that viewers that enjoy art on television do not feel the need to visit the musuems and the people who VISIT museums are they ones that do not have access or not enjoy art on screen.

Secondly, the argument states that televesion is the medium on which most of the art appears. The poll does not throw any light on whether it the medium with the highest consumption. Other mediums like newspaper or the internet can be avenues where most of the consumers appreciate art. And these are the factors that drive visits to the city musuems. Therefore cutting down on corporate funding in televison will probabily not have much impact on the musuems.

To strengthen the agrument, the author must looks for more evidence to support his course of action. As currently the arguement is unfounded.