A recent national survey found that a significant proportion of office workers use company time for purely recreational or

personal purposes. In order to ensure that our employees remain focused on work during work hours, we should therefore use hidden cameras to monitor employees interactions and cell phone usage while they are on company premises. Electronically monitoring our employees in this way will greatly reduce the number of hours Bizware Software employees spend on non-productive activities, such as gossip around the coffee machine or on personal calls. We predict that not only will this measure increase Bizware productivity and profits by preventing employees from misusing company time but it will also reduce our losses by bringing down theft of company property.

The author states that electronically monitoring employees in the company premises will not only increase Bizware's productivity and profits but also reduces losses by bringing down theft of company property. The argument looks perfect and logical yet it is indeed specious.Many questions need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation of electronically monitoring employees will have the predicted result or not.

Firstly, the author states that a national survey found that a significant amount of office workers use company time for personal purposes and recreational activities. There is no information regarding when the survey was conducted. The survey might have been conducted long back when there were no proper rules and regulations imposed on the employees. There is no information in the passage about the survey. The survey might have been focused on the youngsters. The new joiners or the freshers tend to spend time in the recreational facilities provided by the company. The age group should always be given preference in these kind of surveys. Not considering the important parameters like age group and the time during which the survey is conducted would seriously undermine the recommendation.

Secondly, the author says that in order to ensure that the employees remain focused on work during work hours, hidden cameras should be used to track the employees, employees' interactions and phone usage. The employees might use their cell phones during work hours to discuss some issues related to the work. There is no other equipment to find whether the employee to discussing personal matter or the things related to the work. The passage does not provide any information regarding where the hidden cameras will be fixed. Because the position of the hidden cameras should not interfere privacy space of an employee. Hence the questions like what are the places where the hidden cameras are fixed? and For what reason the employee is using the cell phone? These questions need to be answered so as to decide the feasibility of using hidden cameras and electronically monitoring the employees of the company.

Thirdly, author states that Bizware software employees spend on non~~~productive activities such as gossip around the coffee machine. There is no proof that the gossip of employees is useless. There can be productive interaction between two employees discussing the possible solutions for the problem which has occurred in the project implementation. Monitoring the employees continuously can also demotivate the employees of the company and in turn will reduce the profit. What time the employees should be monitored? what are the rules to be imposed on the employees so that they focus on the work during work time? These questions if unanswered could seriously undermine the validity of the recommendation.

Therefore many underlying questions need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation of electronically monitoring the employees feasible or not and whether this will increase productivity and profits or not by preventing the employees from wasting the work time.