A recent sales study indicated that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent over the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants that specialize in seafood. Moreover, the majority of fam

The argument states a recent sales study which shows that their is increase of 30% in the sales of the seafood in the bay city restaurants during the past five years. And states about the survey of the income and tries to show that new captain seafood restaurant should be quite popular and profitable. The argument made by the author is not convincing as there are many flaws in it.

The author states that their a increase in the consumption of the sea food in the bay city on basis of the recent sales study. But author has not told anything about the authenticity of the sales report or describing more about sales survey or who has conducted or what was the sample size, what sort of technology used by the people conducting survey.

The author states that there are no currently operating sea food speciality restaurants which shows that it is not necessary that people visiting the restaurants are solely because of their liking of the sea food. It might be case that because of the other genre of food their is increase in the consumption of the sea food. So this argument is questionable that because of the absence of any specialized sea food restaurant opening the sea food restaurant will be quite popular and profitable.

According to the passage the majority of the families in the city are two income families, author has not stated how he comes to know about the this idea. And on basis of this and nation wide survey he tries to prove that two income families tend to eat fewer home meals and go for the food outside than they used to do decade ago. Here the nation survey results can not be considered true as in nation wide survey there are large amount of people and we don't know about the percentage of the population in the nation. Suppose this result could be true for the area having high population but not for the bay city. And the survey is also states that majority of families tend to eat outside the home this could also result in the bad health as per the nation survey. So it might be the case that people stop eating outside the home after they are being affected by the infection or disease and prefer home food more.

On basis of the such assumptions author tries to say that it would be wise to open a specialised restaurant for sea food which would be both popular and profitable. But the above reasons shows that making such assumptions would be not right. Thus the arguments made by the author is not convincing. And it would be not preferred opening a new sea food restaurant on basis of this argument.