A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The argument concludes that due to increase in consumptions of sea food and in addition to the fact that most of families in the city are two- income families, so the new Captain sea food restaurant should be quite popular and profitable is based on faulty assumptions. There are flaws in this argument, which can turn the tide against the conclusion.

Bay city area has recorded a 30 percent increase in consumption of seafood dishes in ast five years. This statement is flawed at many strata. It might be the case that bay city is a tourist location where people come to spend holidays. Bay city might have a beach and the reach to ocean is very easy for bay city people. Due to this getting sea food to eat becomes quite simple. The restaurants have seen the increase in sea food consumption, because the tourist who stay there find the sea food delicious and they don't get this delicious food back in thier hometown. But for the local's sea food is a common thing. It may be the case that the tourist come to bay city only for some months in a year. During which the restaurants observe a hike in consumption of sea food. This also means that for the remaining major part of the year as some minor numbers or almost no tourist comes to bay city the sea food consumption is back to normal.

It is also possible that as sea food is a common food in bay city, the locals there know very well how to cook and make it delicious, so they don't have the requirement to go restaurants for having seafood. But maybe they go to restaurants for having another variety of food, considering the fact as stated in argument that the existing restaurants are not specializing in sea food.In addition to this the survey which has been taken into consideration in argument, that 2 income families have lower home cooked meals compared to a decade ago, this survey is a nationwide analysis. But they are applying this to Bay city, which maybe one of the many cities in that country. As always exceptions are present. The 2 income families in bay city, may have the head of the family perform 2 jobs every day, but maybe their better halves cook meals for the family or vice versa. The survey considered here does not show which type of people they have considered.

The argument has concluded that the establishment of Captain seafood at bay city which specializes in sea food will be profitable is highly flawed. As discussed above that people of bay city may now how to cook delicious sea food at home and only go to restaurants for eating other type of food. In addition to this the tourist time in bay city is only for some months and due to which the Captain seafood restaurant things it will earn profits, that is not going to happen mostly. Because it only specializes in seafood. Once the visitors are gone there will be mostly no customer in their restaurant, thereby having huge losses in business.

Hence, the argument has many faulty assumptions, which might conclude that the conclusion is not correct. The argument must consider the above-mentioned scenarios, to come up with an acceptable conclusion, which in this case is clearly not done.