A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood would be popular because of the augmented popularity in Bay City restaurants. But the conclusion of the argument is based on some assumptions like Bay City restaurants increased popularity and eating habits of people for which there is no clear evidence.

First of all, Argument presents the percentage increase in Bay City restaurants, but it should give proper evidence of the study which conducted on how many numbers of people and people from which background. If the study contains only 10 people and out of that only 3 people increased in past five years, so it will be not clear evidence of increasing popularity. It might be that study is not reliable and it could contain some type of human error so we cannot come to a perfunctory assumption that captain seafood restaurant will also be profitable. The argument should have a convincing statement by which we can come to the conclusion.

Nationwide study and the area in which Captain Seafood restaurant is based can have some difference in terms of nature of work, financial condition. It might be that people who located nearby area of captain seafood restaurant is based on mainly agriculture and their two-income families would be less than people who are in other parts of the Bay City which have IT and Industrial sectors. So we cannot assume that nationwide study would applicable to all the cities in that nation. Hence, argument should have proper evidence on the financial condition and nature of work of the people who are located nearby of Captain Seafood restaurant.

Lastly, argument does not provide any information about new Captain Seafood restaurant food quality and the location. It might be that quality and quantity they provide would bad and there is no hygiene in the restaurant, so even after providing seafood dishes, the restaurant sales would decline. There can be a chance that the waiter and manager of the restaurant are rude and talks brusquely with customers.

All in all, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolter it, argument must provide relevant facts and evidence about the reliability of Captain Seafood restaurant.