A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The speaker asserts an argument that the regular dental care is not helpful based on an assumption that the children in Himalayan mountain are having less tooth decay despite of their low concerns of their teeth than the children living in suburban. I take exception on the assumption for a number of reasons.

First of all, generally hilly region contain less population than the lower region. The study showing less children of himalaya having less tooth decay turns to be obvious as there are less number of victims than the suburban area. This study does not show the percentage of tooth decay victims of mountain region properly and leaves much ambiguities.

Secondly, even if the population of mountain and suburban area is the same, people of mountain are not that much cautious about their teeth as the people of suburban. This assumption is much credible the study shows that suburban people see dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. But there is no clear evidence of the teeth check up of the people of mountain.

Thirdly, there are myriad of factors varying between the mountain and lower suburban area regarding, climate, weather, lifestyle of people and so forth. There is a possibility that the tooth caring practices of the people of these two areas are different. Tooth decay greatly depends on the type of food intaking. There is a possibility that children of mountain take very little sweet food like chocolate, candies etc. than the children of suburban as there are many super shop of chocolate and candies available here. So it is really, even more imperative to take regular dental check up for children of suburbans.

In conclusion, regular dental checking is not avoidable only because of assumptions based on the vague comparable study of himalayan children teeth care and the suburban teeth care. To bring more strong credence for this argument, there should be more robust study regarding this.