Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The speaker claim that the young people should be given the advice to give more emphasis on following specifically those dreams which worth more on the basis of the reason that many people dream the selfish dream. I agree with the claim the speaker asserts, but not on the basis he/she has shown here.

To substantiate my thought, let us know what is called "Worthy Goals". In my view, worthy goals are those, which are having a number of prospects for the welfare of both the dreamers and the other living beings. Whether the dream is smaller or bigger, it should have good aspects. People's deeds drive by there dreams and goals. But everyone should be careful enough that what if his or her goal can bring any bad consequence or if there any possibility of that coming.

In history, many great men dream great things and goals. Many great political figures work hard to change the society to go under the same unjustified systems. But bringing the great change in society do not have to be inherently selfish. It can be dreams of the people, dreams of the whole nation he/she works for.

Again, there is a chance that the inherently selfish dream can be sometimes diabolical enough to bring the worst example in human history. The leaders who call for wars against nations to fulfil his/her dreams to rule and dictate cannot bring any good, let alone the worthiness of goal. This goal is inherently selfish, but not an epitome to dream in general.

The examples of worthy goals can be anything like: to pick a dream occupation, to pursue higher study, to plan for a business project, to solve any materialistic problems, To be politically involved and work for nations etc. These are the dreams to pick, these are the dreams worth in the end. Of course, these dreams have not to be particularly one's own, or selfish.

In conclusion, I must say, young people should follow their dreams which are worth more and for good reasons. These reasons should not have to be always inherently selfish, rather they should have a great aspect and influence on the welfare of the people.