A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given argument provided by the author is flawed due to numerous valid reasons which weakens the argument to the root. Primarily, author makes the wrong implication of Himalayan children and suburban children that dental care is not helpful to prevent tooth decay, as there can be numerous reasons for this. Author also heavily relied on the study that was performed but provide no real stats and information about the study.

Firstly, author makes a wrong implication that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay since Himalayan children have no tooth decay and they receive no dental care then suburban children that receive dental care and still have high rate of tooth decay. There can be numerous reasons of why children of suburban have high rate of tooth decay, but making this assumption out of the giving context is a fallacy and it can not be considered right.

Secondly, There can be many reasons of why Himalayan children have less tooth decay then suburban children. Diet plays vital role for this, there can be a case where suburban people consumes more sweet items then Himalayan people, and since sweet products are major cause of tooth decay so suburban children have high rate of tooth decay. Living lifestyle and food consumption are the major cause of tooth decay. It can be a case since Himalayan people are more inclined towards natural things. they may use some sort of paste that might help there tooth to be stronger. The climate and pollution difference can also be a big factor of this reason.

Lastly, in the given argument author relies completely on the study that was performed on suburban and Himalayan children, but author doesn't provide the stats of how many children were being involved in this study, does the lifestyle of the children that were brought under study was same, or does they have similar eating habits. If all this information be provided the argument would be much more stronger and easily defended. Even if these facts are brought under consideration we can not have a similar environment as suburban area of United State would be much more polluted and warm then Himalayan region of Nepal which would be much cleaner and cold. These climate factor and also play a big role in tooth decay issue.

All the points that involve details of the study that was performed and on the basis of which author derived a conclusion was not provided. The fallacy that author made and not considering the climate, lifestyle and eating order difference of the people of both the regions makes the argument weak.