A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Both the result and findings of the study seem to rely on a lot of presumptions and seem apocryphal at best.

How have the authors of the study compared the number of children in the two regions? If they directly compare the absolute number of children in the two regions, then it might be possible that the population of children is higher in the United States and that the proportion of children with tooth decay to the total number of children might be much lower in the United States.

It might also be possible that as people in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, the number of diagnosed cases of people with dental problems are less while the actual number might be quite high. As there is a paucity of dentists available in the area, many of the children's problems are not reported at all and hence the low number of children with dental problem might be a false representation of a much more sombre problem. It can also be that there is a greater lack of awareness in Nepal because of which the number of reported cases are low. These scenarios absolutely refute the findings of the study and in turn, its results.

Even after the assumptions that places qualms over the study, the conclusion drawn by the author seems quite premature. Suppose even if we assume that proportion of children had more levels of tooth decay in the United States and number of reported cases are equivalent, the conclusion is still not justified based on the study of two countries only. The author might need to consider a meta-analysis of the results from different countries where the above stated scenarios are relatively similar across the different countries. Even in case of the two countries, it might be possible that the researchers happened to consider only those children that did not have regular dental care in case of United States. We are told people on an average, saw the dentist 1.25 a year but, by serendipity or otherwise, the authors might have only considered those children who did not get or had access to regular dental care.