Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Countless great people have encouraged the young people to dream, to be ambitious and to follow their heart. While it all sounds theoretically good but in order to realise his or her potential, the person has to look beyond the quixotic superficial meaning of this statement. It is not the dream but the goal that needs to be pursued and it is the greater good of the goal that should drive the person in order to bring a change in this world. Therefore, I agree with the claim that the emphasis needs to be on picking worthy goal.

Freud had once said that dreams often bring out suppressed emotions and as Man is considered as a rational animal, that is, he performs a set of actions that benefits his own well-being, it is quite natural that our suppressed emotions tend to be selfish. In some cases, they can be borderline vindictive when a person is indignant about the world and the injustice in it. A goal borne out of envy and acrimony can hardly be considered prudent and tactful. In such cases, one cannot simply give in to the impulses and follow the dreams. He must persevere to make this world a better place by creating a difference in the right way - a way that is fair to other people. So in other words, he must focus on building and targeting a goal that is worthy. A worthy goal might be exceptionally difficult to create and even more difficult to follow. When the situations become adversarial, it becomes even more difficult to do the right thing, to work hard and to not give up. And this is where the challenge of the hour needs to be - pursue those worthy goals and substantiate the efforts made in the right direction.

As humans, we often tend to be capricious and impulsive and accordingly. our mood, thoughts and dreams reflect our mercurial mindset. In order to achieve great things, our actions should be based on a solid foundation of self-belief and the answer to the question "why". This answer helps to drive us in the difficult circumstances. This answer needs to be secure enough to support our plan of actions. An answer arising out of selfishness and whimsical nature cannot be strong or firm enough to drive us in good or bad times. We need this answer to come from the proper amalgamation of logic, emotion and virtue. Only then will we be able to convince ourselves that we are on the track to achieve what we ever hoped to achieve.

To conclude, I would like to say that any thing we want to achieve in life must be based on a strong foundation of why we want to do a certain thing. Therefore it is of utmost importance that we create a goal for ourselves that is worthy for the greater good and helps us keep going in the exacting situations.