Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

I do not agree with the recommendation as I believe that the security and defence of the nation is of paramount importance and should be cardinal in investment from government.

In today's world where we have apprehension, trade hostilities and power struggle among nations, it is necessary that a country invest substantially in its military power. There are numerous examples of such types of struggles such as political trade struggles between China and USA or the struggles between India and Pakistan at Kashmir borders. We cannot really expect the countries that are directly involved in such grave feuds that can devolve into a war at anytime and concern the well-being of the entire nation to focus as much on art as it does on military. These countries need to invest as much as possible to maintain and further bolster a strong army.

Apart from the political enmity, crimes such as terrorism stalks the world like a hydra headed demon. Aside from terrorism, there is internal strife like the rise of Naxalites in India which require the intervention from the military. Today the importance of military is more than ever as the security of the nations is at a very delicate position. The security is required to be alert, diligent and perpetuating to deal with any and all kinds of danger at any time. The military requires more manpower and resources than ever and hence, it needs more investment and support from the government than ever.

The concept of art is important as well and in fact, I do believe that artistic innovation help to enhance the aesthetic appeal of a country and unleash the creative potential of people but the defence of the country is the very foundation on which the rest of the country stands. And for any dynasty or architecture to be sturdy and long lasting, it needs to be set on a strong foundation that can maintains its structure through the difficult circumstances. It is only when the foundation is strong enough that other structures or occupations can thrive and focus on becoming better to further improve the nation's appeal and economy. Therefore, without a proper military and defence, artistic development would be moot as it would never get the opportunity to flourish and have the efficacious and meaningful impact.