Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Several questions will need to be answered before a decision of any kind can e made on this issue. First of all, how many students are actually facing this problem? The school received the letter from one such student so we are still not sure about the seriousness of the issue. The school simply cannot consider changing the vendor just for one student. Any kind of consideration can only be made if a significant number of students are actually facing this issue.

The argument mentions that the cafeteria food consists of low-fat and low-calorie meal, which begs the questions - is this meal balanced in all the required nutrients? If these meals are lacking in some of the essential vitamins or minerals, then the school should consider either changing the vendor or the type of food being served. Assuming that the school also has young growing children, the meal will be required to have adequate levels of proteins, fats and carbohydrates.

The prediction of the argument also seems a bit premature. Why will there be serious health consequences for the students? Students who eat at the cafeteria will be eating low calorie meals while other students who resort to bringing their own lunches, will not be facing any serious consequences unless they resort to extremely unhealthy food. In these cases, it might be the responsibility of the teachers and parents to make these children aware about the health aspects of different food. There can be comparatively healthy and tasty alternatives to the cafeteria food which the students can eat so there is no explicit correlation between students bringing their own food to potential serious health consequences.

The prediction also talks about replacing the current vendor, which also seems presumptuous. Even if a decision is made regarding changing the meals, the same vendor can be asked to prepare different a types of meal, that is more tastier or is a more balanced diet. Cancellation of the contract with the vendor will be a precipitative and unneeded action, without any sorts of discussion.