The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal has the following fallacies. First fallacy, it can inferred from the letter that the parent is compromising on healthy food habits based on the children's review while it is the adult's responsibility to decide on it. Second fallacy, the parent's suggestion that changing the vendor would be the only solution to go about is disagreeable. Third fallacy, the letter doesn't mention any information on children who are not from the son's group of friends.

First fallacy, it can inferred from the letter that the parent is compromising on healthy food habits based on the children's review while it is the adult's responsibility to decide on it. It is the responsibility of the parents and schools to provide healthy food to children and that responsibility should not be compromised because the children are not finding it tasty.

Second fallacy, the parent's suggestion that changing the vendor would be the only solution to go about is disagreeable. While changing the vendor seems to be a viable option it is also necessary to provide feedback to them so that the vendor makes the healthy food more tasty. After which the parent can again assess whether the vendor should be removed or not.

Third fallacy, the letter doesn't mention any information on children who are not from the son's group of friends. It is important that the parent should have provided information regarding other children and provided a joint consensus that the vendor's food is not found to be tasty by most children in the school.

Therefore, if the parent avoids the above fallacies by not compromising her authority on what kind of food should be given, providing more than one solution to the problem and finally providing information on other children who like or dislike the vendor's food, then the letter would have had a stronger stance.