A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument here which has the conclusion that dental care is not as beneficial as it is deemed to be needs to get answered on few question based on its assumption. On the basis of the assumption, it may be helpful to know if the argument has a practical or not.

The first question which arises is that the what were the age group of the people who were considered for the poll in United States. According to the passage it states that it considered adults of suburbs of United States to compare with the children living in Himalayan regions of Nepal. It is a well known fact that the teeth gets weaker as humans grow so it may be one of the reasons why the Nepalese children have such a strong teeth compared to the people of US.

The second reason why the conclusion is too ambitious because it causes the questions " What are the environmental conditions of both areas? Are they similar? or whether they are different? If the answer is that the conditions are different than it may be reason why the people have to visit their dentist regularly. It may even have to not do anything with the dentist.

Another question which needs to get answered before conclusion is "What are the daily food items which are eaten by the people are comparable and moreover do they have any effects on people's teeth?" If the answer is yes to the question above that that may be the reason why people living in the suburbs in United States have the problem.

Another question which needs to get answered is whether the daily routine of people of both the countries is similar or not? Moreover do the people living in US use better toothpaste to clean their teeth or not? if the answer to this question is NO, than that may be the reason why people in US see dentist more often.

Another possibility which the conclusion does not accounts for is the fact that people residing in US may be more concerned for their teeth than the people living in Nepal. That may be reason that they visit their dentist regularly.

The questions above are the ones which are needed to get answered before getting jumped to any conclusion because even if any single one of them has different answer, than that might be the reason why people visit their local dentist in US more than people who live in Nepal.