A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising

The author tries to establish a relationship between productivity and sleep time. By using a research that indicates an association between higher profits with less amount of sleep, the author suggests that in any field individuals who sleep less will deliver more results. Such correlation cannot be made with the given evidence only.

Firstly, since the vast majority of employees cannot work more than 12 hours per day according to current labor laws, there is enough time for employees sleep as much as they need during their leisure time, which does not count as working time. Consequently, it can't be claimed that it will decrease productivity. Moreover, many scientific studies point out that cognitive capabilities in humans achieve their best levels when they sleep between 7 to 8 hours per day. If such studies are valid, then the argument becomes seriously flawed.

In addition to that, the interview responses may not be reliable at all. Generally speaking, CEOs are worried about their image and the way they are seen by others. When a CEO assumes a 9-hour-per-day sleep routine, he or she can contradict the image of hard-working team players they fight to build throughout their careers. Thus, most of them would feel inclined to make a false declaration. Finally, the data collected refers to only one specific niche, namely marketing. Even the study results are indeed veracious, there are no guarantees that this rule can be successfully applied to other niches, fields or occupational levels as well. For example, a truck driver who transports gasoline in an eighteen-wheeler may cause a deadly accident if he or she falls asleep on the steering wheel.

To summarize, the article fails to draw a conclusion with solid data. Not only it tries to establish an absurd relationship based on a research done upon an inaccurate method, but it also tries to make a vast and dangerous generalization.