A recent survey of 250 adults between 30-45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online e

The author's recommendation to reduce the time spent online to promote well being raises some questions that needs to be answered for its evaluation. At first glance, the author's recommendation looks sound and logically based on survey but on careful examination, one can clearly find it to be rife of assumptions that make it ill-founded.

Firstly, what is the nature and reliability of survey discussed in the argument? Author has not provided the information establishing the reliability of the survey. The usage of words like 'frequently' further adds to the ambiguity. Thus if the survey is reliable and has adequate data to support the correlation, this would strengthen the intent of the recommendation. Ont the contrary, if the survey is not reliable and was not conducted fairly, this would weaken the recommendation.

Second question that needs to be answered, What is the nature of correlation stated by the survey? Does it indicate cause and effect relationship? May be the people who were interviewed do not represent a fair set of the subjects. The most active online users may suffer more from more concentration problems and depression but this does not indicate that spending more online time is actually a cause for this. This may be a coincidental correlation or a correlation driven by other factors. For example, people who are spending more time online may work in a similar profession like software engineering of content writing for websites. It may be the pressure of their jobs that have caused these problems, and thus working online is just an indication of the cause not actually a cause. In this scenario, reducing online time would mean spending less work hours and this would further exacerbate the problem rather solve it. On the other hand, If working online is actually a root cause then the recommendation becomes well founded and logical.

Additional question that pops up is, what may be the other side effects of limiting one's online time? It may be true that the people would also utilize their online time to read the fitness blogs that guide them to improve their physical fitness. If they stop or limit their time spent on such blogs, this would have an adverse effect on their fitness weakening the recommendation.

In conclusion, answers to the above questions is crucial to evaluate the validity of the recommendation. If the questions are answered in favor of the recommendation, it becomes infallible otherwise it remains ill-founded and flawed.