At first glance, the argument made to support the recommendation looks cogent and logical but on thorough scrutiny, one can clearly notice it to be rife of assumptions. Some questions that are crucial to the evaluation of the recommendation are unanswered by the author in the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes, only the swing states that have considerably less population are more crucial to the outcomes of the elections. What is the support of this assumption? It is possible that the big states where, although vote of a single individual has less value but the state is not 'safe' for the parties, as stated by the author. Larger states indicate more diversity and it is never easy for a single party to get easy majority in such circumstances. If this is true, then the recommendation loses its meaning as it is based on the premise that large states are more tractable for the parties. On the contrary, if the larger states are actually easier for the parties to win over, then the recommendation stands stronger. Some statistical data elucidating this doubt would be helpful for the evaluation.

Moreover, author asserts that more priority to the votes of smaller states is undemocratic. What is the evidence that author refers for this assertion? If all the states are given equal priority, it is most likely that larger states would now become 'swing' states. Then, what difference would the recommendation make? More priority to the voters of smaller states may ensure that the interests and opinions of minority are not ignored. If this is true, it exposes the fallacy in the author's argument and significantly weakens the author's recommendation. However, if this is proven false by the evidence, the argument is considerably strengthened.

Additionally, what is undemocratic and unfair about the candidate who does not win the majority but wins considerable votes from all states with more uniformity? Author has not presented any information to answer the above question. If the candidate who may not have got the majority on a whole but has accrued votes more uniformly from the states, can be considered a more suitable candidate then the validity of recommendation is threatened. On the contrary, if statistics prove that it is the other way around, then the sanctity of the recommendation persists.

In the conclusion, the answers to all above questions is mandatory for the fair evaluation of the author's recommendation. If the answers align with the the recommendation, as discussed, then the argument becomes infallible, otherwise it remains ill-founded and half-cooked.