The primary goal behind advancement of technologies is the benefit of mankind, and this is possible when the application of technology is expanded to other fields and domains. However, the speaker's statement that too much resources are expended for the new inventions, is somewhat exaggerated and misses on the point.

Consider the advent of computers and automation in today's world. Whatever be the domain or field, the use of computers has become indispensable. For example, in fields like biology and nueroscience, the computers have completely revolutionized the existing approaches and methodologies of research. Most of the medical tests use computers and other high end graphical simulations for diagnosis of various diseases. Thus, it is evident from all such domains, that the existing technology has proliferated into all other fields.

Besides the above evidence, different businesses and startups are launched daily to extend the application of existing technologies. For example, now one could do all his errands online: from ordering groceries online to make money transfers, sitting in the comfort of home. All of these services are based on common technological stack but serve completely different purposes. Thus, the business world is spending plenty of resources to make existing technology reachable to the common people. Though, the penetration is still low and such services are limited to urban and sub-urban areas, the government and other organizations are working hard to achieve the goal of making extant technology accessible to all. For example, recently many projects have been piloted by top firms like Google, Facebook in collaboration with the government to make internet accessible to even the remotest parts of the country.

Undoubtedly, expanding the use of existing technology is important, but the importance to innovate and develop new technology cannot be overlooked. Both the endeavors should go hand in hand, and the world should not witness stagnation in any domain. The responsibility to innovate and create new technologies is incumbent on scientists and research organizations, and undoubtedly they are doing a wonderful job. In few years, one would be surrounded by intelligent and completely autonomous robots, owing to the cutting edge research funded by the concerned organizations.

Thus, the balance between both the forces is required to reap maximum benefit from the innovations. Researchers and scientists should continue to innovate and create new technologies, while corporations and businesses should proliferate these technologies to all the domains maximizing the applications of these technologies.