Argument: The United States of America should dispense with the Electoral College. At present, the President and Vice President are selected in a process that does not give equal weight to all voters. Apart from Maine and Nebraska, states select electoral votes based upon a winner-take-all system. Because states have disproportionate populations, the weight of votes is worth more in some states than in others, particularly in swing states (in which no candidate is clearly favored). The campaign process then marginalizes large states that are considered 'safe' (such as California for the Democrats or Texas for the Republicans), with candidates focusing instead on swing states, privileging some citizens' votes over others. Additionally, the winner of the electoral vote will not always necessarily win the popular vote. This is fundamentally undemocratic and unfair, and it must be stopped.

Dispensing with the electoral college, based on the reasons, author has mentioned, would be so fair and democratic; however, the author was not able to offer a compelling notions, and since his argument is rife with some assumption, it would not be so cogent to be accepted.

The first assumption is his argument is that he said that the process which made the president and vice president, does not give equal weight to all voters, and additionally he has named two states that are based on winner-take-all system but he has not clearly declared in which states such rules are being held. whether all states except two mentioned states allow such rule or just some of them. What is more he believed that since other states have disproportionate populations, the weight of votes worth more in some states than others, and as the same reason mentioned previously, which is not mentioning which states obey such rule, the idea is not clear and therefore, more light should be shed on it.Moreover, he has no cleared how much is it worth more, in some states. There is a possibility that social and economic situation of some states make the president to give more weight to their voters, not just because of the fact that its candidates are not favored.

Furthermore, he has argued that for focusing on swing states, champion process, marginalized safe states, to privilege some citizens' votes over the others. But the thing that should be more painted on, in this assumption is that he has not mentioned which citizens? He has not again, present any details about his argument. Moreover, he believed that the electoral vote winner is not necessarily the winner of popular votes. But maybe there is no necessity to win the popular vote. The candidate's purpose is to win the election, and it might not be important for them to win the popular vote.

To wrap up, dispensing with electoral college of the United States, though might be though unfair and undemocratic, would not be the best way, just because of whatever the arguer mentioned. Doubts should be more cast on, in his argument, in order to make it well analyzed.