A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Over the years, different people have come up with a host of factors and behaviors that contribute to depression. The author of this argument has concluded that depression is caused by excessively spending time online. The author lists statistics gathered from their survey which showed a correlation between excess time spent online and difficulty concentrating. Also, the statistic of: 20 percent of these adults who participated in the survey and reported excessive online use reported feeling sad or blue, was given in support of the overall argument. While this author may have some valid points, the lack of sufficient, detailed, and relevant evidence greatly weakens their argument.

In adults, difficulty concentrating can be caused by a number of different factors. While this is a symptom of depression, it is not exclusively related to depression. It is possible that some people naturally have a shorter attention span than others, which would cause them to have difficulty while concentrating. Also, this statement does not take into account extraneous factors. For example, a person may have trouble concentrating because they are nervous, excited, or upset about an upcoming event.This difficulty in concentrating,in this case, could be temporary and not related or indicative of depression.

Similar to the previous evidence, the second statistic is vague at best.The author does not note the person’s overall demeanor or general mood. It is possible that some of those in the 20 percent already have depression. In this case, their depression may be attributed to a chemical imbalance in their brain or a traumatic life event of the past, and not to online usage. Another factor to note, is 20 percent is not the majority. Because of this, it is unfair to generalize an entire population based on such low numbers.

There are several ways this author could strengthen their argument. First they could find out a detailed history of each participant’s general mood, mental disorders, and pivotal life events. The author could also test for a wider variety of symptoms, instead of just trouble concentrating and feeling sad. The author could also record the amount of time each participant has reported feeling blue to see if it could be related to an extraneous factor.

Overall, the author of this argument has a good base on an extremely poignant topic. This argument has the potential to be strong. However, its current lack of detailed and thorough evidence from the survey render this argument fairly baseless and overgeneralized.