In recent years the worldwide demand for fish has grown, and improvements in fishing technology have made larger catches and thus increased supply possible: for example, last year’s tuna catch was 9 percent greater than the previous year’s. To capitalize on these trends, we should, therefore, invest in the new tartfish processing plant on Tartfish Island, where increasing revenues from tourism indicate a strong local economy.

The argument states that the improvement in fishing technology has made larger catches due to which there is increase in tartfish catching. Hence the government should invest in tartfish catching at the Tartfish Island, where these species are mostly found, for good local economy. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention various factors on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion here lies on assumption without proper evidence. Hence, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument mentions there is increase in Tartfish catches by 9% due to improvement in technology. It fails to take into account the approximate population of these species nearby the island and obviously, the economic viability of such practise depends on the how frequently such species can be found. If there is increase in number of catches, there might be a probability that these species decline in number and in future may extinct. Also, the efficiency of the new technology can be studied further. The argument does not even mention whether the local population will be able to bear the expenses of the technology in the long run, in terms of maintenance and other factors.

Secondly as argument mentions that there is an increasing revenue from tourism. However, such statement needs a deeper introspection. The causes of increase in tourism, the knowledge of things that attract tourists in the area, the variety of dishes the tourist prefer should be taken into consideration. One should know whether the tourism in the area is seasonal or not. Only when such factors regarding the tourism are taken into account, the viability of the proposal can be better understood.

Finally, the argument suggest to invest in fishing for generating strong local economy. The current economic factors, the demand for the Tartfish, how will the new practise affect further tourism can be taken into account for further strengthening the argument and moving on to the final decision. Without considering these factors, the argument has no leg to stand.

In summary, the argument is flawed and unconvincing. It could be further strengthened if the author clearly mention all the factors. In order to mention the full authenticity of the argument, it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors and situations.