Replacing the Mathescam Bridge, which links Ottenville with Tottenville, will prove far less beneficial than would repairing the existing structure. The project will unjustly hurt drivers because the Ottenville mayor recommended - shortly just before $12 million new bridge proposal was announced - that bridge tolls be raised by 50 percent. Since drivers' main complaints have been uneven pavement and closed lanes, the Mathescam bridge Authority should not hike tolls and instead repair the existing bridge, shifting maintenance crews to the evening, when a few drivers are on the roads.

The argument as mentioned above says that the repairing the bridge rather than replacing it will be a better alternative. However the argument, as mentioned above is flawed in many ways.

First, it mentions the cost of replacing the bridge. However the cost, if repaired, is not mentioned here. That should be taken into consideration since if the repairing cost is somewhat lose (or close to even half of the budget for replacing, the replacing will be more viable. This is because the life of the bridge, if replaced, will obviously be higher than life if the bridge is repaired. For approximation, the former will be more than twice the later. So initial large investment will be more economical in the long run.

The argument even doesn’t takes into consideration the frequency of the vehicle if the toll is raised. If the frequency is reducing substantially, then obviously it will not benefitted to both sides. It will unnecessarily increase the debt on the authority and inconvenience to the rider.

The kind of vehicles passing through bridge should be taken into account since that will impact the life of the repaired bridge. Obviously if heavy vehicles pass mostly, the repair will not be impactful. Also heavy vehicle drivers prefer to drive mostly in night. So if maintenance work is shifted in night, it will increase traffic and congestion.

Also diversion of routes, how inconvenient will it be for the riders and its impact on traffic should be taken into account before taking the final call.

Hence, the argument lacks clarity in supporting its decision. It is incomplete since various facts supporting the argument are missing and so those facts should be taken into consideration and analysed properly. Hence, those facts and analysis should be taken into account before making the decision.