Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author asserts that replacing butter by margarine makes customers feel happy, making a profit for some reasons. The reasons he mentioned seem reasonable, but there are some critical mistakes.

he contends that only about 2 percent of customers have complained about the change, it indicates that the rest of them don't care of that, even feel happy. if 100 percent of the customers have voted, and not filed complaint, it can support his assertion strongly. Because customers feel that this change is not bad. but we can't know how many customers have voted. it means we can't know how they feel about the change. so what he says is just his assumption and not reasonable.

The author also mentions the reporting by servers as a indicator what the customer thought about the change. he says that many of customers who ask for butter don't complain when they are given margarine instead of the butter. if they recongnized the change, and felt happy with that, it can enhance his assertion.

In the author's assertion, however, we can't know that, even he says that the customers can't distinguish butter from margarine. In this regard, a number of customers couldn't notice the change, and just ate their foods with margarine, believing they were eating the butter. so it can't be supporting his assertion well.

he also assert that as the restaurant use margarine, they can save extra-money and make a profit. if the restaurant announce the change to all of the customers, and they accept it, it would be a good way for profit to the restaurant. but they use the margarine for just some profit, deceiving customers. they didn't make the price of the foods lower. so the author's assertion is not a right way for the restaurant's finance.