"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Based on three premises the argument concludes that customers of the Happy Pancake House restaurants either do not differentiate margarine from butter or they refer to either butter or margarine using the term butter. First of all, replacing butter by margarine in the southwestern HPH restaurants had little impact on their customers. Second, the HPH restaurants mention that ninety eight percent of their customers are happy with replacement of butter by margarine. And finally, many servers report a number of customers do not complained when they were given margarine instead of butter. None of these premises are satisfactory and there are several loopholes in the argument which makes any conclusion deduced from it untenable.

First premise of the author is that replacement of butter with margarine had little impact on southwestern HPH restaurant’s customers. The only information about customer’s reaction to this change is complaining of only two percent of customers and actually the author gives no information and statistics about number of the customers of the restaurant. It might be number of the customers who complain and abandon their restaurant high enough that loss of them would cause a significant financial loss for them. In addition, there might be other main reasons for not complaining about the replacement such as price discounts, higher quality foods, and etc.

Second notion of the argument is that ninety eight percent of customers are happy about change. The author fails to take into consideration that not complaining about a subject necessarily do not mean being satisfied about that and author should provide further convincing evidences for readers to support this claim. It is plausible that among the people who do not complain there are some who merely silent and do not voice their censorious opinions or simply avoid the restaurants. In addition, the two percent who had complained about the replacement might be agents of a larger group of customers.

The final subtle point which is mentioned in the passage is that a number of customers do not complain when they delivered margarine instead of butter based on the reports of many servers. The author should take into consideration that the both terms ‘a number of customers’ and ‘many servers’ do not give exact information to the readers since they are qualitative terms and vague. The argument should be primed by further information and statistics. It might be number of the servers are not adequate or representative of all the servers. If so, the argument would be weaken.

In final analysis, the author’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, for the given information, it depend on number of premises all of which could be explained in other ways as well. The argument would have been more comprehensive if the author had presented sufficient yet convincing evidences to support his claim. Therefore, the argument is not totally convincing and unsound.