A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

In this argument it states that in the coming years Mentia will suffer less headaches as Salicylates (which cures the headaches) are used as flavour additives, and it is based on the assumption that many companies put flavour additives to the product that is generally or largely consumed by the population.

There are many companies which manufactures product in which they add flavour additives to make the taste of that product better. But we cannot say that how much quantity of these additives are added as there is no information regarding this is given. Also, whether the population of that country are using/buying the products in which these flavours are added or not, in not provided in the argument. So, we can’t rely on this much of information and develop result basis on this that the residents of Mentia will suffer less headaches in the coming years.

For example, if there is flavour additive in a particular type of juice which is not liked by many people and on that basis if we say that people suffering from headaches will decrease will not be correct. As there are less people who are consuming this particular juice and hence people suffering will not decrease as much as it has been decreasing by having Salicylates directly. Also, the study states that people usually take something which is in medicine form rather than having it in food, whenever they are having a headache.

Though as provided in the argument that there are many foods items that are naturally rich in salicylates and many food processing companies add salicylates to foods as preservatives, so there will be decrease in headaches in the residents of Mentia. But that does not imply that there will be fewer headaches faced by the people when salicylates are also be used as flavour additives for foods, as many people do not buy products which have flavours added in them.

So, information regarding whether how many food items contains Salicylates should be provided so as to judge whether in coming years the people suffering from headaches will reduce or not. Also as to how much of Salicylates are in the flavour additives will provide us that whether the intake of Salicylates is enough or not to reduce the possibility of headache in a human or not.