"As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods requested that eightmillion cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promofoods concluded that the cans did not, after all,contain chemicals that posed a health risk. This conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists fromPromofoods tested samples of the recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamedfor causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists didfind that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods."

The author in the business magazine states that Promofoods recalled eight million cans of Promofood tuna. This is as a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna. The company made a conclusion that the canned tuna did not pose a health risk afterall following series of tests. However, before this recommendation can be accepted, three questions must be answered.

First of all, why didn’t chemists from an independent body test the recalled cans? Testing in general is supposed to give an unbiased view of a product and also remove any element of doubt for a result that will be obtained. In the passage, testing was conducted by staff of Promofoods. These staff have an air of bias around them and would obviously conduct tests to protect the reputation of their employers. The chemist might have been threatened with the loss of their jobs should they bring out reports which would be harmful to that of the company. With this kind of testing, the authenticity of the test results is hugely doubted and the test result does not have merit. An independent body needs to undertake the tests on the recalled cans to clear any element of doubt.

Secondly, why were tests conducted on only 8 food chemicals commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea? The passage infers that the chemicals that causes dizziness and nausea are more than the 8 chemicals tested by the chemists. The possibility of the dizziness and nausea suffered by consumers could have been as a result of the presence of other chemicals which were not tested. All factors including negligible ones should be factored when testing, however, this wasn’t done by the chemists. They ignored other factors which could have provided a far conclusive result. This in effects makes the conclusion by Promofood that the tuna doesn’t pose a health risk not compelling enough.

Finally, what is the source of data for the chemists claim that the 3 chemicals present in the are not health risks? The chemists made the statements which providing evidence to back their claims. This cannot be accepted because this is a health hazard we are talking off. Customers lives cannot be put at the mercy of assumptions without proof. This statement also doesn’t provide a strong case to accept the conclusion made by the company.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is currently flawed due to several factors doubting the authenticity of the results. Until the author is able to answer the questions raised in the argument (in the form of conducting independent tests, testing all other chemicals likely to be present and providing data to support his claims), then the conclusion by Promofoods should not be accepted.