"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

The author of argument says that, “The radio station’s listeners are decreasing while listeners of continuous news in neighboring cities have been successful, so the KNOW radio channel should switch from music to news for safer future”. To examine this argument we need to check weakness and strength of the argument. The conclusion may be valid or it may erode the author’s conclusion. To reach the final conclusion let us analyze the argument first.

Firstly, author says that, KNOW radio station should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to continuous news format because several factors affecting to this KNOW channel. Further he says that, number of people listening in our area over fifty years ahead are increased dramatically and that’s why total number of listeners are declined. In order to evaluate this argument we need a solid proof that, old people listen only news and not music. Also we require proof for how many listeners are actually decreased. It may be possible that, more interesting music channels are arrived and whole crowd is moved there, and the reason behind declining crowd is not rock-and-roll music or either news. Author made assumptions and not provided proof for the same.

Moreover, he says that, music sales in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. So there may be chance that, people start listening music online instead of recorded music. What is the connection between decreased sales and people are must listening news? Author should provide evidence for that, unless we can’t reach the conclusion.

Along with that, he further says that, the switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract old listeners and secure KNOW radio’s future. In order to reach conclusion we need a piece of evidence that, old people don’t listen rock-and-roll-music and they can listen 24-hour news. We can erode this argument by saying that, my grandma and her friends love to listen rock and roll music and they can listen that 24 hours a day. We don’t have any evidence about the old people’s affection for news and rock-and-roll music. Also, if in neighboring area the news channel is working good does not implies that, in our area this news channel will work, author made logical fallacies and it’s vague. We can subvert the argument by saying that, BLOW radio station started playing 24 hour news channel and within a month this channel bankrupted. We need the solid piece of evidence so that we can reach the conclusion.

In conclusion I would like to summarize that, the argument may sound logical at first glance but, author made lots of assumptions and failed to provide evidence for the same. To reach the conclusion we need to know about, old people’s demand, the actual listeners of radio channel, and lot more. He may have made right assumptions, but for us it’s all vague because he failed to provide proof.