"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

The writer from the electrical department states that the demand for electricity might not be increased and it would not be really necessary based on the survey by the people in an area and upon the upcoming technologies which reduces electricity consumption, also solar heating technology. But considering just this view it would not be advisable to agree with the arguer’s decision. This needs to be viewed in a broader perspective and then should be thinking about considering or not considering the proposal.

Firstly, there is no evidence relating to the sample size and total population in that area. The chances of accepting the proposed plan depends on it if only 2% of sampling were taken for a survey, it does not make sense to proceed with the proposal. But if the sampling size covers a large portion of the area living in that place, then the chance of considering the proposal is likely higher.

The arguer mentioned only about the homeowners, what if the area also have commercial complexes and what if in near future the business scope gets increased in that area, definitely energy consumption might be increased. For example, a dining restaurant might need energy for preparing dishes using micro-owen, for light, billing, Fans or Air conditioners, and many more. This aspect is not being taken into evidence while proposing the idea.

Also, the argument states that the manufacturers have been producing goods that consume only 50% of the energy when compared to the appliances from a decade ago. Based on this should that be concluded that there would be no increase in power in consumption? If this true, then technically power consumption should have been already declined. But the argument never stated about the decline of power consumption as a piece of evidence.

There should have been a decline in power consumption as per the arguer’s statement in the argument, such as solar heating, and energy-efficient appliances, because these two will definitely show an impact as the power consumption per household would have been reduced. But that point is not mentioned in the argument, so maybe the power consumption is constant for over a decade even after so many energy-saving appliances. This means there is no real evidence or surety which concludes that there might be a decline in the consumption of energy. Adding these details as an extra fact might help to decide about the proposal. But with the absence of this evidence, it would be too vague to conclude with the proposal.

Without adding the above-mentioned and primary evidence, it would not likely be beneficial to the electric power company to conclude with the idea proposed in the argument. These crucial data or details would add more details and the ongoing trend of power consumption. Market analysis on new business setups, coming with new appliances would definitely not decrease the consumption in fact it increases. More clear pieces of evidence need to be added to the argument to come to a conclusion on the above argument.