"At the small, nonprofit hospital in the town of Saluda, the average length of a patient’s stay is two days; at the large, for-profit hospital in the nearby city of Megaville, the average patient stay is six days. Also, the cure rate among patients in the Saluda hospital is about twice that of the Megaville hospital. The Saluda hospital has more employees per patient than the hospital in Megaville, and there are few complaints about service at the local hospital. Such data indicate that treatment in smaller, nonprofit hospitals is more economical and of better quality than treatment in larger, for-profit hospitals."

In this argument author conclude that treatment in small,non-profit hospital is economical compared to large non-profit hospital based on data from two hospital. In this argument there are many flaws present. Due to this flaws argument mislead readers. This argument is not convincing and unsound.

Firstly, the author has talked about the shorter stay of patients in the small, nonprofit hospital than in the larger hospital. However, he has not mentioned the number of patients and the type of illness for which they were admitted in the two hospitals. Moreover,Every disease has its own time to cure. A shorter stay does not mean that the patient is fully cured. Hence, comparison of Saluda and Megaville hospitals on this basis is not convincing.

Secondly, the author has mentioned that the cure rate among patients in the Saluda hospital is twice that in Megaville hospital.Here again author has not mentioned type of disease which play an important role to cure a patient.Usually, small hospitals do not have many specialist departments and so the patients suffering from minor disease are admitted there. Therefore, their stay might be for a smaller period.While on other hand Large hospital have many special department like heart specialist, Nuro-surgon.The patients suffering from serious disease usually go to bigger hospitals where the specialists are available for almost all the diseases and hence they are sure of good treatment.

Thirdly, according to the author, the number of employees per patient is more at the Saluda hospital as compared to the Megaville hospital. However, as we do not know about the number of patients at both the hospitals we cannot compare them at this point. It might be that the Saluda hospital has less number of patients, hence more number of employees per patient are available. One more point that the author has mentioned is that there are few complaints at the smaller hospitals. The author has not thought that the reason behind this could be that their stay at the hospital was for a short duration of two days and they might be suffered from minor illness. Since the treatment is also low-cost in a non-profit hospital, it is possible that patients do not complain much

Finally,The author has concluded this argument just on the basis of two hospitals. So data for conclusion is insufficient and There should have been more evidence to conclude that smaller hospitals are economical than the bigger hospitals. He should have the cases of some more hospitals, the number of patients treated there, the illness of patients, the cost of their treatment etc. It would have strengthened the argument.