In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the idea of the author based on the evidecne of the Waymarsh library check out that - the mystery novels are more preferred among the respondents of the conducted survey. Though the author provided quite a few reasoning, there are many logical flaws in the premises of the arguement. These conjectures are to be mentioned followed by sufficient clarification.

To begin with - the author believes that there was availablity of literary classics in the library of Waymarsh along with the mystery novels. What if providential inspection finds out the scenario is not the same as assumed. It might be the case that the there is a certain amount of shortage of literary classics in the library of Waymarsh and so most of the people preferred the mystery novels; might be their second one in priority. If that is the case - then the people who checks out any book, not only mystery one - will be higher than that of the number of the people; who would have been numerous if there was sufficient of literary classics. Apart from this - it can also be the case that - there might be little number of literary classics compared to the mystery ones and almost all of those classics had been checked out. However, the author did not mention the amount of the both the books in the library and that is why we can not ignore the possibility of this happenstance. If that is the case, then the author can not but have to rethink his idea of conducting the former resspondents as misrepresenter of reading preferences.

Second point to be made is that - the author belives that there will always clear distinction between literary classics and mystery novels as these are two seperate genres of books. However, he is neglecting the possibility of a hybrid genre here in his conjecture. What if the respondents of the survey love classics novels as well as some flavour of mystery within it and in competence they might choose the latter one as they preference. Bu the author does not tell anything about this. It might be the case that in the mentioned survey there was no category such as - "classic mystery novels" and that is why the respondents could not repond to it. However, it csurely does not prospcribe the idea that when there will be cahnces to check out the classics or the hybrid of classics-mystery novels, they might prefer those. Might be the case that the aforementioned two genres might not be available in plenty or might not be at all - and that is why the reader has to go for their third preference (as it seems to be) - the mystery novels. We can not neglect the upshot if there were sufficient novels of classics compared to those of the mystery ones - as the author has done.

The very plausible fallacy the author might be vulnerable to is that - he believes that most of the citizens of Waymarsh are library goers. What if proper speculation turns out to be that - most of the citizens are the ones who would prefer read in their phones, tablets or in their laptops - suppossedly in portable data formate. It might be the case that the citizens are not fond of spending a lot of of their time in the library or they might have not found the library to be as capacious as it should be and that is why they might prefer to read online or by downloading their preferred classic novels. Another good point to be made is that - what if the gurantee that most of the checked out book will sufficeintly deduce the preference of the readers if there was any urgent need of those literals? It might be the case that - most of the people who checked out the mystery novels are the students of literature and they migth have to complete any certain assignment or so. And for this they might need plenty of those mystery novels; out-numbering the classic ones, but necessarily the preferences.

So, it can be concluded from the aforementioned points and factors that - certain questions are to be answered before coming to any conclusion; with proper evidences.