In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

The given argument concludes that the respondents of the study related to the reading habits of people of Waymarsh have misrepresented their reading preferences. The argument is backed by the result of the second study conducted by the same researchers that mystery novels are the most borrowed book from the Waymarsh public libraries. However, the argument is relying on many unwarranted assumptions which makes it undependable as it stands.

Firstly, the arguer has not stated the cross-section of the people who participated in the first study and those who borrow books from the public library. Unless the arguer provides data related to the respondents, it is difficult to assume that the result of the first study is misrepresented. Moreover, arguer hasn't provided any data about the age group the first study targeted and the average age of people borrowing books from the library. It might be possible that disproportionate participants of the first study belonged to an older age group and people who usually borrow books from the library are college students, thus explaining the difference in choice. Without sufficient data, it is not possible to agree with the arguer.

Furthermore, the arguer has made fallacies assumption that public library is the only source of books available to the citizen of Waymarsh. It might be possible that the city of Waymarsh has numerous private libraries or popular bookstores from where people can buy books. Most of the people who are borrowing books from the libraries are younger students, who don't have the resources to buy a book. If the above is true it will weaken the arguer's assumption.

Finally, the arguer hasn't provided any evidence to show how many literary books are being borrowed from the library. Although mystery novels are the most checked out, literary books might be close second and the first study had a disproportionate amount people who like literary classics thus bending the result of the first survey towards them. Moreover, the arguer hasn't provided any report to show how many classic literary books are available in the library. It is possible that the library doesn't have enough books or enough variety and people have no other choice but to borrow mystery books. Without considering these conditions a concluding argument cannot be made.

Concluding, without sufficient evidence and established a link between the people of the first study to that of the second. It is difficult to assume that respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences. Hence, the argument as it stands is flawed.