In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers fo

At the first glance, the argument seems to be plausible that, first study of the Waymarsh showed that the most respondents preferred literary as their reading material but after checking out at the local libraries most of the reading materials taken out were related to history. This argument is based on some of the unfounded assumptions. For the validity of this claim, author have to answer some of the questions stated below.

First of all. does the majority of the people who were participated in the survey go to the library to get the reading material or they buy themselves instate of going to the library. Is the library only a source of reading material? If those people who took part in the survey buy almost all of their books by them selves then the writer's claim will be fallacious. Author has be able to answer this question.

Secondly, how many varieties of books are available in the local library? If the library mainly contains books more about the history and they have limited amount of books related to literature then this may be the another cause they have taken out the books related to history in greater number. Historical books might be their second choice after literacy. Due to the limited amount of book provided in literature they might not have any choice left beside taking books related to history.

Thirdly, literature is the first choice for most of the readers doesn't mean they will always read books related to literature only. Sometimes, they might like to change the topic of their study and that surveying time might held exactly at the same time when most of the readers were just changed their topic of study. Beside that, if the surveying time was around any historical date like independence day, Martin Luther King's day, then readers might love to read about the history around that time just to deviate from their normal study habit for a while. In addition, readers might intended to teach their kids about the history around the historical day by borrowing the books from the library.

In summary, there might be several other reason beyond the assumption and imagination of the author's claim that- readers have misinterpret their reading preferences. Above mentions possibilities should also be well studied before making the claim valid.