Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

A person is literati only when he can logically reason for both sides of a topic. The prompt claims that a person can learn only from people who share his ideas and not through those who contradict his own. I strongly disagree with this position because of the following reasons.

Firstly, An individual learns a concept thoroughly through syllogism. He can truly grasp a concept only when he questions it's position, know its benefits as well as adverse effects. For instance, a person supporting urbanization needs to be aware of its consequences in order to keep his position in check. He should be aware of the fact that global warming is an increasing worry for the world and sufficient oxygen producing trees are necessary for any living organism to sustain life on earth. With this knowledge, he can make his proposition better by acknowledging the opposite side as well. A person sounds more pursuing when he is ready to recognize his adversary and doesn't look like a bigot.

Furthermore, discussing the topic with people who don't look eye to eye helps in keeping one's idea in check. If a person is only surrounded by people who have the same motivation they can digress from the primary goal they set out with. For example, when considering the case of Donald Trump his primary objective when he set out to become president was to deport all illegal immigrant but with his toady supporter and complaisant administration he digressed from taking important decisions in immigration policy or making his border strong rather he was pursuing the government in making a wall across the America-Mexico border which would have cost billions of dollars thus making USA's economy weak. It was only because of a healthy opposition namely, the Democrats because of whom he was made aware of how impractical his plan was. The above example illustrates why having a healthy adversary is important as it can help who understand a concept better.

However, I don't support diatribe between opposition as it leads to nothing. The Indian Parliament or "Lok Sabha" is notoriously known for this. Unnecessary brawl only wastes the governments time and money. Which leads to stress and inhibit learning.

Concluding, it is necessary to have people who oppose your position close by. As people who own the same views help in learning faster, it is the people who oppose your position that help in understanding the depth of the concept.