In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type o

After comparing the results of two studies of the Waymarsh citizens’ reading preferences, the author concludes that the first study respondents mispresented their favorite genre of literature. He supports his conclusion with the fact that literary classics as a preferred genre (as revealed by the first study) did not match mystery novels (as revealed by the second study conducted in the public libraries). Even though such a conclusion seems persuasive at first, after its evaluation with scrutiny some unstated assumptions appear which unless proved renders the argument untenable.

Firstly, the author assumes that the research sample was representative, meaning that the obtained results can be trusted. In other words, it is falsely assumed that respondents were from different age groups, professions, etc. It is entirely possible that the participants were mostly students since this study was conducted by the University of Waymarsh. Unless the sample consists of different people taking into account their gender, age, occupation, level of education and so on, the results cannot be considered valid. Therefore, if this assumption turns out to be wrong, then it will mean that the data in the study was skewed and, as a result, it does not represent well Waymarsh citizens’ reading preferences. Hence, it might not be the fault of the first study respondents who supposedly mispresented their preferences, but rather it might be the researches who did not manage to allocate a sample that would be representative.

Secondly, it is assumed that both studies were conducted at the same time or relatively close to each other so that their results can be compared. However, since we are not provided with the dates of those studies, it might be the case that there is one or ten years difference between them. Of course, even if the former two assumptions were correct the respondents’ preferences might have changed during this time. Perhaps, some bestselling mystery novel appeared or a movie based on such a book was released drawing more attention to this genre. As banal as that, the participants of the study might have got tired of reading the same genre and wanted to discover something new. Consequently, the argument can be easily dismissed if there is a significant time period between the two studies.

In the final analysis, the author’s conclusion about the misrepresentation of the reading preferences by the first study respondents is unconvincing as it stands since it relies on the above-mentioned assumptions. Even if one of them turns out to be false, then the cogency of the argument will be seriously damaged. Therefore, only if all of the assumptions prove to be valid, the conclusion can be considered tenable.