The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world?

The Internet emmerged not so long ago, but it has already dramatically changed many aspects of our lives. At this point, it is impossible to say if those changes were solely for the better or worse since the consequences are still ambigious. I am ambivalent about how the increased availability of information influences our life today as it is clearly a two-edged sword.

First of all, it has brought a certain advantage to our life by making it much easier. Now we do not have to go to the library to prepare for a test or write an essay, we can simply "google" it or open a Wikipedia article. We do not have to go to the hospital as telemedicine field is burgeoning. We even do not have to go the post office anymore thanks to the emmergance of e-mals services. All of these shows how the widespread use of the Internet gives us many new opportunities. People who cannot go to university can learn by reading or even listening and watching the articles, podcasts, videos that are out there.

Secondly, it has brought a lot of new jobs and ways for earning side income. For example, now there are jobs such as bloggers, influencers, youtubers that we already considered as normal as teachers and managers. What they do is simply sharing the information that they have with their communitiy. Therefore, the Internet has given a rise to a new economy of information.

However, it has certainly negatively influenced some businesses: the businesses with an old operational model that have not reajusted it to the new realities are, unfortunately, subjets to huge losses and possible eventual bankrupcy. Consider a telling example of Tom Cook - a famous travel agency that has been on the market for over 50 years - that a couple of weeks ago claimed that it was out of business. Experts say that this was mostly due to the growing usage of the Internet where now people can find all the required information for a trip as well as book hotels and flights on their own, without any intermidiaries.

Another negative consequence of the increase in the availability of information is that it has diminished to some extent people's creativity and made them lazier. Nowadays it requires little effort to look for certain information since we can seach for keywords on the Internet or visit forums where it is possible to can get answers to the questions immediately. What is more, it gave rise to the plagiatrism, copyright issues and more.

In the final analysis, the widespread use of the Internet has undoubtedly influenced our lives in many ways. Some of them are positive, while some are negative. In order to make the Internet work for the greater good, we must focus on how to make this influence beneficial and how to avoid or at least mitigate the possible negative consequences assosiated with it.