SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is completely flawed because it makes assumptions and provides only vague details. It is judging a place based only on the number of homeowners and comes to a conclusion based only on an employee survey, which could be misleading. It also assumes that lower taxes means a lower cost of living, and states that Corporateville is much safer than Middlesburg without giving any sort of reason.

The argument makes a claim saying that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg based only on the "recent surge in the number of owners." There are a number of flaws with this statement. Firstly, it should provide information on the number of homeowners in both Middlesburg and Corporateville, because, for all we know, Middlesburg could have a higher number of homeowners than Corporateville. Moreover, it fails to say why SuperCorp has based its success on the surge in number of owners. Along with this, it has not stated what kind of organization SuperCorp is, as this is important important information to judge the organization's reason to move. Therefore, in order for one to come to a conclusion, the argument needs to provide information on what kind of company SuperCorp is, why it bases its success on the number of homeowners in a place, the number of homeowners in each place and also a comprehensive study on both the places' infrastructre and environment.

The argument justifies its claim based on an employee survey. Employee surveys are highly misleading in most cases, and it could be wrong in this case as well. It does not tell us why workers prefer to not live in urban areas like Middlesburg. It does not tell us if Corporateville is rural, suburban or urban, because for all we know, Corporateville itself could be an urban area. Therefore, in order for the argument to justify this part of its claim, it should tell us if Corporateville is not an urban area, and it should also allow workers to express their thoughts as to why they don't want to live in urban areas.

The argument makes another flawed claim based on Corporateville's lower taxes and thus says that Corporateville is cheaper. Lower taxes does not necessarily mean cheaper because Corporateville could have high living costs. It also fails to mention what kinds of taxes are lower in Corporateville than Middlesburg. Also, it says that Corporateville is much safer than Middlesburg without providing even a modicum of evidence. Therefore, in order to strengthen its claim, the argument would have to provide us with statistical data based on taxes and living costs, environmental analysis, and workplace analysis, in order to know if Corporateville is actually safer and cheaper than Middlesburg.

Therefore, in order for the argument to strengthen its claims and discard its flaws, it would need to perform a lot of comprehensive studies and a complete analysis. The argument should compare Corporateville and Middlesburg only if there is enough information to convince the person who is analyzing it.