SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live then Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp’s current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

“Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

As the author mentioned, there were three obvious disadvantages of Middlesburg, the homeowners' opinion, the urban area it was, and the high taxes. All of this seemingly reasonable so-called truth made the Supercorp made a decision that living in Corporateville is better than Middlesburg. However, the Supercop's decision largely based on the unwarranted assumptions which need to be proved by extra information.

First of all, as the Supercorp say, the recent surge in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live rather than Middlesburg. However, we do not have the specific information such as the data of the person who make this kind of choice to support this assumption. In hence, we cannot make the so-called assumption of it. For example, it will be not convincing as it stands due to the definition of recent, what if the people who gonna live in Corporateville is not the same group as the group who live in Middleburg? Then the Supercorp should reconsider this problem and make a more convincing assumption.

Second, according to an employee survey, Supercorp has concluded that its workers do not have lots of interests in living in the urban area. Nevertheless, this assumption based on an obscure survey, we need to prove that how many employees who take the survey will live in the Corporateville. Moreover, we need to find out the consistency of the employees, how many workers are in this employees group, and what kind of place will the other employees like engineers prefer. If there will be only small group employees who are workers live in the new place--- Corporateville, then the Supercop's assumption will be reconsidered.

Last, the Supercorp mentioned that Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg. Therefore, they made the assumption based on an unwarranted information such as their life experiences. Nevertheless, there are lots of impactions will influent the safety and the life cost in a different place. The lower taxes may be seemingly cheaper than the higher one, but we need to combine the goods own price and make the final evaluation. Moreover, the safety is not only based on the taxes. If the goods in Middlesburg is totally cheaper then Corporateville, and the police officers and the government policies in Middlesburg are more strict, then the Supercop's assumption will be weakened, otherwise, it will be strengthened.

To sum up, the Supercop's assumption needs to prove by more extra information, and we cannot agree with this one since there is too much flaw we need to fix.