SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While SuperCorp may have moved to Coporateville because Corporateville is a safer and cheaper place to live, the argument provided for the conclusion is full of gaps and far reached assumptions.

Argument claims that Coporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg on the basis of the recent surge in number of homeowners in Coporateville. This part of the argument did not take several other factors into account. Firstly, it doesn't say anything about surge in number of homeowners in Middlesburg, maybe there is surge in number of homeowners in both the state, in that case the conclusion drawn here will be wrong. Also, increase in number of homeowners can be for number of other reason instead of Coporateville being superior place than Middlesburg such as investment purposes. Maybe, people are buying houses there simply because its cheap and the prices are supposed to be increased in future, in this case the increase in number of homeowners does not necessarily indicate the superior conditions to live in Coporateville.

There is very less information provided about the survey, it can be misleading to make such conclusions without properly assessing the survey. Employee's answers to the choice between urban and non urban completely depends on context in which the they were asked to choose. Firstly, the question might have not stated the changes that will occur if they switch to non urban place, changes like lower salary, and poorer education for kids, poorer medical facilities. Employee might have answered perfunctorily to this question of choices without considering such changes, in that case the survey is unreliable and any conclusion drawn from such a survey might be misleading. Even if employees want to live in a non urban area, it does not specifically say anything about whether they want to live Coporateville or not. Maybe they do not even consider Coporateville as a non urban place as there is no solid definition for a place to be urban or non-urban.

Finally, argument provides no evidence for Corporateville being the safer place than Middlesburg. Even stating that Corporateville is the cheaper place out of two, just on the basis of lower taxes, is a far reaching assumption. Expenses in life can be because of many factors other than taxes. In a city with metro or similar kind of srvices makes it cheaper to commute which may not be present in Coporateville and hence the commutation might be expensive there. Many other services might not be present in such areas which makes living there more expensive. Even if the place is cheaper, Coporateville still might be a poorer option than Middlesburg from a financial outlook as it also depends on the amount of income both cities has to offer to the residents.

Coporateville might have as its own advantages in term of living conditions but the reasons provided does not corroborate such a conclusion.