SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument suggests that Supercorp has made the best decision to move from Middlesburg to Corporateville as the latter place is clearly superior. He further backs his claim by mentioning an employees' survey which says that employees prefer to live in rural areas which Corporateville provide. Plus, it also has low taxes compared to Middlesburg. The argument at first sounds very cognizent, however, further scrutiny reveals that the argument is based on some unwarranted assuptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that recent surge of homeowners in Corporateville clearly makes it a better place to live is completed unwarranted. He doesn't provide any evidence to support his claim. For instance, it might be possible that Corporateville is a developing town thus, few buyers makes it look like there is a surge of homeowners. The author should provide figurative data to back his claim. Nonetheless, without such evidence author's claim is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, the author mentions an employee survey to make his claim strong. However, he doesn't provide any evidence to show us how many employees' were invovled in the survey and whether they covered complete demographic of the company. If only handful of employees were surveyed then taking a decision based on their opinion could have adverse effect. As it might be possible that majority of the employees enjoy living in urban cities and the survey had a disproportion number of employees who prefer rural. Thus, inclining their decision towards them. If the above is true the author's claim doesn't hold water.

Finally, the author's assumption that Corporateville is better is hasty. As he doesn't provide any evidence to show that whether Corporateville has all the basic amenities that their employees' need. Even if the employees enjoy living in rural areas, if Corporateville doesn't have good medical facilities or doesn't have internet services it will make it impossible for the company to function. In such a case, moving from Middlesburg to Corporateville wouldn't be feasible.

In conclusion, the author's argument is flimsy and based on some unwarranted assumptions. He needs to provide more evidence on the aforementioned points to make his claim strong.