SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument is based on three main assumptions from which it concludes it's main conclusion, that Supercorp's decision to move it's headquarters to Corporateville was justified.

The first assumption is that the surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville indicates that it is a much better place to live in than Middlesburg. This hypothesis is most likely based on the thought that a rise in homeowners indicates the area specified has been proven to be more alluring than others. This assumption is a fallacy since there are many reasons such a rise might occur, and some of them might indicate the exact opposite situation. For example, the rise in homeownership in Corporateville might have been a result of a decline in house prices. Such a decline might indicate that Corporateville is less attractive to homeowners, and thus now attracts mainly low income individuals who cannot afford a house anywhere else. In such a case, the argument's conclusion is void. Only if SuperCorp were able to conclude that the surge in homeowneship in Corporateville is a result of a rise in it's attractivness, would the argument become valid.

A second assumption which is used to substantiate the conclusion of the argument is that the employee survey's results undoubtly indicate the prefrences of all SuperCorp employees, and this might be untrue. For example, if the survey was answered by a small number of respondents, by employees from one specific department, or by single and childless employees only, it might result in a conclusion that does not represent the desires of all employees. In such a case, all the survey implys is that some employees would prefer Corporateville, with no conclusion regarding the majority. Only if the mentioned survey were held under statistical standards, including representation of all types of employees, would it indicate the preferences of all employees, and even then it might be biased in some way.

Lastly, the argument relys on the assumption that lower taxes result in a safer place to live or work in, as well as lessens employees' financial strains. This assumption is highly unlikely since in most cases, low taxes result in underfunding of municipal services such as schools, police forces, activities for the youth and so on. In such cases, it is more likely that lower taxes would result in Middlesburg being a much safer place than Corporateville do to larger police funding and youth activites. Therefore, Corporateville would still be a cheaper place to live in, but undoubtly not a safer one, and thus employees might find themselves reluctant to move there. In order to strengthen the above argument, and render this assumption valid, it is crucial to survey cities throughout the country and examine if there is a correlation between low tax rates and safety. If so, the assumption that low tax rates indicates a safer community, might be strengthened.

In conclusion, the argument that SuperCorp employees would rather live in Corporateville is based on three main fallacies that render it invalid. Only by adrressing these fallacies would it be possible to determine where the employees would rather live.