SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This paragrah has a series of unsupported assumptions, that if proven wrong would mean that the decision made is not the best for the company and their workers.

The paragraph starts mentioning the increase of homewoners in the city where they plan to move their headquartes, and a correlation they make between this and the idea of it being a "superior place". The assumption made is that the numbers of homeowners is directly correlated to the quality of living in a city. There are many factors that could come into play when it comes to qualifying a city as such, the GDP, its safety, the number of people living in the city. Even if these are true, there is no actual comparison in any of these data between Corporateville and Middleburg.

A factor also taken into account for making such a decision in relation to their workers is that according to the paragraph SuperCorp workers prefer living in an area that is not urban. The characteristics of Corporateville when it comes to it being either urban or suburban are not mentioned, so we do not know if workers would be willing to move to a new city just because they do not like living in their current urban area, just to move to a new one.

Finally Corporateville is said have lower taxes than Middlesburg thus making it safer and cheaper for their workers. For this to be true there would have to be a correlantion betwen taxes and their safety, which is not mentioned or supported. Also it is not mentioned how the lower taxes would affect the corporation and how it would affect their workers' pay.

If these assumptions were proven wrong it would mean that moving to the new hearquartes would not mean an improvement for their workers, thus not being the best decision for the company.