In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Form the above argument author describing that this year city government has planned to devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.As for years there have been complaints rom residents about the quality of the river's water and the rivers' smell.aiuthor assuming that they will be increase in the water sports in they clean this river.Firstly the city park department devotes spending little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. how much money they are using for recreational facilities? secondly we have to for what reason the water getting smell and reducing the quality of the water? what are different plans the state announced and how much budget will it take ?

Firstly, state government has to identify what is the reason behind the water quality and smell. if the are complaining means its will be bad quality and smell. assume that because of rank water sports only water was been affected .then author government has to stop rank sports in that case author statement cont holds water.and the state has to know did they are cleaning the river everyday? if it not happen that may be one of the reason behind the quality and smell of the water.

the river is flowing through the city state has to know whether the people in the site are polluting the river? pollution may effect quality and smell of the water.state has to know there are any industries near to the river so it might affect.if the government is going to realise funds without knowing the exact reason behind the river smell and quality. the funds will be wasted. assume there is a industry near by the river and they are releasing all the dust in the river then government has to stop the industry near the river rather than realising the funds.

in the conclusion there will be many reasons behind the quality of the river and the smell they has to find the reason behind it. people in the city will also be the reason. author has to come with more evidence to prove the argument.