In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing)

among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city

is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little

of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been

complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In

response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the

river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that

reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what

the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer contends that the city government should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities because the use of the river is sure to increase. To support the argument, the writer provides the following evidence; 1) In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. 2) There have been many complaints about the quality of water and the smell of the river and the use of the riverside recreational facilities will increase if the issues are addressed. It might appear to be credible at first glance that the city government should increase their budget to the facilities; however, closer scrutiny reveals that it lacks substantiated evidence and is therefore implausible as it stands.

First, the writer assumes that the use of the facilities is to increase if the city government increases its budget to it because the citizens in the city like water sports more than other sports. However, the writers reasoning looks subject to the error of hasty generalization. From the surveys, it is certain that the people in the city prefer water sports. Unfortunately, nothing other than this is certain based on the surveys. Even though the people like water sports, they might like a sort of water sports that they cannot enjoy on Mason river in the city so that they have to go to the beaches. Unless the writer provides information about what water sports exactly the citizens like, the argument would be undermined.

Moreover, the writer concludes that the facilities will be sought after if the city government addresses the complaints from citizens. However, the writer deals with this issue with insufficient data. Simply thinking, the use of facilities is expected to increase after the complaints about the river are solved. However, we have to focus on what the complaints are mainly about. It is possible that the people who complained were not interested in water sports at all and they would never like the water sports. Also, it can be assumed that the quality and smell of the river complained by citizens was so endurable to water sports enthusiasts that it could not prevent them from enjoying the sports. Therefore, the writer should provide data showing the opinion and thoughts of citizens who like the water sports to better support this argument.

In sum, the writer’s claim is not well supported. The writer should provide more sufficient evidence that will eliminate all the above doubts and questions. To better assess the assertion, the writer has to provide further evidence such as data about what water sports exactly the citizens like and water sports fans’ opinion on the quality and smell of the river.