College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Should college students base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field as the writer contends? Many people would think that the critical criteria for choice of a field of study must be based on how possibly they can succeed to find their jobs. However, I disagree with the writer’s argument. This is because the essential reason for presence of colleges is not to educate people who will work after graduation but to flourish fields of studies in our society as well as educate future scholars. Colleges have continuously acted as a mother of scholars and leaded our lives into societies with plenty of diversity.

First, colleges have born many great figures with high level of erudition. Take Isaac Newton, for example. He was one of the greatest physicists in our entire history. He laid foundation of human’s understanding about natural phenomena. His greatest contribution to physics can be summarized into Newton’s law of motion and differentiation, which are importantly dealt with even now. In this way, colleges have leaded fields of studies to develop over time and opened new generation with high technology. Colleges should not be regarded as school to raise future workers but to develop studies that will enrich our society.

Moreover, the number of fields of studies is the most precious resource to our society. Diversity has given human chances to develop by letting people be able to see the other aspects that they could not have seen had they not been various. Most of all, the diversity of human society definitely can be enriched with various kinds of studies. This is why we have to choose a field of study with our own aptitude or preference. If we just chose the field of study with the availability of jobs, fields with low availability would lose the number of students and it would lead the fields to fade away. To keep our society’s diversity, students should not be affected by their future possibility to get a job.

In Korean idiom, one says “A society without diversity would necessarily disappear.” As having seen the foregoing examples, colleges play fairly important role to keep our lives various and enriched. Therefore, I disagree with the writer’s opinion. If colleges had not showed up in our history, we might be still in the medieval period.