Schools should do more to prepare students for non-academic adulthood

The statement that schools should prepare the children not only for academics, but also to the adulthood of having different scenarios, clearly addresses the current trend of having high importance on academics rather than giving a proper and fully fledged personality to the children. The schools are only concentrating on making the children dream about high paying scale and a facile career. This is restricting children from developing the ability to face challenges that may come in their way in life. Having said that, there is no value for the moral education as well as any other non-academic aspects of life that children might have to face in their adulthood.

In this concern, Japan has the most interesting type of schooling when compared to other countries. It gives children in the school age the glimpse of responsibility, cleaning their environment, household works such as cooking, cleaning and also the trading the food they had cooked. These aspects make the kids have a sense of how adulthood would be and what are things they need to concentrate on besides scoring well in academics. This gives the true meaning of education in all aspects.

In contrast to this statement and example, there are schools which do not even give attention to the mental health and the overall development of the child. They would be so much into making them score well in the subjects that might give them the highest salary and fame. This mindset of the schools are leading to the increasing mental health issues in a very young age of the children.

However, the government could also take in some responsibilities in imposing the non-curricular activities to the institutions which only concentrate on academics, ruling out the possibilities of having producing adults who wouldn’t have any idea about how to face life and its challenges. This concern has lead the education world into a deep thinking of changing the methods of current teaching and preparing the kids for the future.

In adulthood it becomes most important that how we lead our life rather than what scores do we have on our profile or scorecards. Life never comes with lessons, teachings or instructions. So, if we depend only on the way we learn our academics i.e, by learning and memorizing, we lead to nowhere but to destruction. This attitude should be built in every individual from young age while they have their schooling. The schools have better chances of molding the children into the desired shapes. This works well with children when they are guided in a public environment with their peers, instead of telling them in private in homes.

Therefore, it is a very serious concern that schools should prepare the kids in such a way that they should be capable of leading their life flawlessly without hesitating to take challenges and actions. This is possible only when they are taught non-academic concepts like moral values, life aspects, facing challenges, daily life activities along with their curriculum/academics.