Schools should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Rules are guidelines implemented by the authorities to enforce a practice to be followed by everyone. By implementing rules authorities have the power to make people follow the same practice which serves a purpose either serving personal or general benefit. In a democracy, rules being implemented by the authority must be unbiased and should serve a functional purpose doing the overall welfare of the public and society. It is the responsibility of a government or authority to serve the public and make the best decision for them and vice versa public should follow the ethical and legit rules with sincerity. If the laws or rules are unjust, the public should question the lawmakers and oppose the rules to ensure the best rule to be brought doing overall welfare rather doing favourism. In the process of questioning the rules, people avoid dictatorship and contribute to bringing out the best for everyone.

It is the duty of every individual part of society to participate and question the rules being implemented for them. By doing so, it helps to avoid unjust and unethical rules from being implemented. People who actively question the rules being implemented force the authority to bring the best and most meaningful laws. Recently, the Indian government of India implemented farmers' laws which gave more rights to big private companies to directly buy farm produce without the need to give any fixed security and compensation in case of crop loss. As soon as this law was proposed in the parliament it resulted in widespread protests all over India from the farmers and the general public citing unjust laws for farmers and providing favours to multinational companies. These widespread protests eventually forced the government to take the law back. These protests also pressured them to avoid bringing unjust laws in future. Hence, active protests help to avoid unjust laws and enforce the authority to bring meaningful laws for the public.

Questioning the rules of authority also helps to avoid dictatorship. Consider the case of North Korea where no one has the right to question the government and everyone has to blindly follow rules being forced upon them by authorities. Asking questions about rules helps and gives the freedom to the public to question the authority. In the previous paragraph example, the Indian public protested against the unfair law which finally resulted in the government rejecting the rule. The authority to question the rulers about the rules helps to avoid laws which do favouritism or may benefit the government making them inevitable and bold enough to introduce any rules they feel the requirement for which can eventually avoid the authoritarian governments.

Some people may argue that protesting and questioning the rules of authority might slow or delay the process of important rules from being implemented. But looking at the positive side, asking the right question from the authorities will help to avoid unjust or unfair laws from being implemented. It's better to be late than to be stuck with bad laws which can have serious repercussions on society. Hence, in an active democracy, people should question the laws being implemented by the authorities to bring the best for overall welfare.